Limp Bizkit – Chocolate Starfish And The Hot Dog Flavored Water

Limp Bizkit is a band that I have been a fan of for a long time. Ever since I heard the song “Break Stuff” on the radio, I have been a fan. No joke. Chocolate Starfish And The Hot Dog Flavored Water is, in my opinion, their masterpiece, with hits like “My Generation”, “My Way”, “Rollin’ (Air Raid Vehicle)”, and “Take A Look Around”. I bet you think I’m joking, but I’m not. I’m dead serious. If you go on Spotify, each hit has around 50 million listens. Obviously there are people who listen to Limp Bizkit unironically, or else they wouldn’t be so popular. This phenomenon has also happened in popular music to everyone’s favorite band to hate, Nickelback. I think the reason everyone hates them is because they don’t want to admit that they relate to their Beatles-esque hard rock masterpieces. Again, this is not a joke. I really like like Limp Bizkit and Nickelback.

Starting with the “Intro” track, all the way to the “Outro” track, there isn’t one moment that doesn’t engage me in a deep way. Early on in the album, the track “Hot Dog” sets the theme for the rest of the album, using references from NIN’s “Closer” to contrast their own style with the industrial rock style that NIN is famous for. In my opinion, they take the lyrics, alter them, and give them more edge than they originally had in the original song. “My Generation” is a lit cannon of pure rage that puts a Generation X twist on the phrase first coined by The Who in 1965.  The lyrics present themselves in such away that it is hard to ignore the message that Fred Durst delivers throughout the whole album. Sonically, the band has a lot of similarities to P.O.D., a band that I am also a big fan of. “My Way” reminds me of the Mac Demarco song, “Goodbye Weekend”, with its lyrical declaration of not letting others tell you how to live your life. I’m pretty sure I heard Mac Demarco say in an interview that one of his first CD’s was Limp Bizkit, and there are videos of him playing the songs “Break Stuff” and “My Way” live. Limp Bizkit helped start a whole new era/genre of rap-rock, along with Rage Against The Machine and Insane Clown Posse. I like most of Eminem’s disses, but he was way off with dissing Limp Bizkit and ICP. Essentially, Eminem developed his own style of rap with rock influences, but at the same time, Eminem is much more respected in the rap and music world in general, so I won’t let popular opinion sway me from liking a different style of rap-rock. I even like country-rap (seriously) like Demun Jones and Big Smo. At this point you’re probably thinking, “is this guy serious?”, to which I would reply, “yes”. My favorite tracks on the album include “Hot Dog”, “Rollin’ (Air Raid Vehicle)”, “Rollin’ (Urban Assault Vehicle)”, with Redman, Method Man, and DMX, as well as “Take A Look Around”. To top off the album, there is a 10-minute song called “Outro”, which starts with alien voices, warped synthesizers, and turns into a conversation between band members about the album they just killed. Again, I seriously mean it. Limp Bizkit’s willingness to experiment with so many sounds and genres gives them the ability to seem just far enough out there to scare the “normies” away, while at the same time provide catchy songs that will remain classics in the rap-rock genre and music world in general. They are, in my honest opinion, one of the most unique bands to exist, and I feel that they are cool enough guys to take the lack of respect among certain circles in a positive way. Overall, I would certify this album fresh, even if you don’t agree with me. That is the greatest part about free speech, and in my opinion, that is what makes countries with free speech, like America, great. Thanks for reading, and as always, God Bless America.

Leave a Reply

