OPINION ON THENEEDLEDROP

If you are a big fan of up and coming artists or are interested in dank memes and don’t know who theneedledrop is, well, that’s ok. That means you don’t need someone to tell you how to think and feel about new music/dank memes. Just kidding. Honestly though, I watch some of his reviews in full, but for most of them I just see what band is new and check out the album for myself. Most of the bands that I really get into are bands I find myself or someone tells me about. Not that the bands he reviews aren’t good, but not all of them are going to be for everyone. I understand that he puts out a new review everyday and constantly creates new content being the internet’s busiest music nerd, so it’s understandable that not all of the artists he reviews will be at the top of my list. On another note, I must say that when I first heard about him, I thought he was very annoying, and at that point in my life, I didn’t see the need for critics in general. But after finding out how many new bands are coming out with content, I kind of saw where he was coming from. It isn’t that he creates reviews just to criticize bands, he also uses the platform he has to highlight new artists as well. It really is a win-win situation for all parties involved, and after realizing this, I started to see Anthony Fantano’s side of the story. One thing leads to another, and I eventually found out about the Cymbal app from one of his reviews. From this I eventually started to develop my opinion on new music more and more from actually laying out my current favorite artists and seeing what other people are listening to, and here I am now. With a music blog. I’d say that Anthony Fantano in the long run is a positive influence on the music world, and even though I might not agree with him on everything, I do see the need for someone like him in the constantly changing multi-media climate we live in where magazines that used to be popular are fading away and YouTubers are making a living by vlogging in the comfort of their own homes. Eventually I want to see some kind of profit from my passion of music and guitar, so I’m doing everything I can to get there, not because of the money, but because I feel it is my true calling and purpose in life. Thanks for reading, and as always, God Bless America.

Leave a Reply

