BØRNS – Dopamine

I can’t believe it has already been two years since BØRNS’ debut album Dopamine was released. Time really does fly by fast, and you don’t even know where it went. And I’m not even old enough to be able to say that, but I did anyways because of how much I like this album. I remember waiting  for the original singles from BØRNS, born Garret Borns, to come out after I heard the song “Electric Love”.

borns3

I remember reading an article about him living in a treehouse, and I remember thinking, “I wouldn’t expect anything less”. His music is so ethereal and otherworldly that it is hard to compare it to any artist out there. Some artists and albums that I feel similarly about are Carly Rae Jepson’s album Emotion and Hozier’s debut album Hozier, as well as artists like James Bay and George Ezra. Each of these albums funnily came out near the same time, and I almost feel that a window opened somewhere in pop culture to let in such different artists like these. I’m not really sure what to say except that this type of music puts you in another place, a whole other mindset. It is music that really puts quality over everything, to the point that the music seems like it comes from another world where everything seems lighter and more pure. There is not one track that I don’t like on this album, but I especially like “10,000 Emerald Pools”, “American Money”, and “The Emotion” as the standout performances. To truly get the whole idea behind BØRNS, check out this video of him playing “Electric Love” with Zella Day inside of a vintage 1970’s car:

2 thoughts on “BØRNS – Dopamine”

Leave a Reply

