Spotify United States Top 50 – July 25, 2017

Y’all know me, still the same O.G. I was thinking about what I could do that I haven’t yet done, and at the time I was looking at the Top 50 on Spotify, so I’m going to review exactly that:

Starting at number 50 and 49 is Linking Park’s songs “Heavy” and “In The End”. In light of Chester Bennington’s death, or any famous musician’s death, their music starts to trend again. It’s a bittersweet occurrence, because on one side it shows that people are remembering listening to his music. At 48 is Lil Yachty and Kyle’s “iSpy”. In my opinion, the bottom of the list is mostly where yesterweeks hits go to fade out, so there you go. Now its up to Lil Yachty’s fans to keep his forward motion. Same with Tyler, The Creator’s “Who Dat Boy” at 46. I am personally a fan of Tyler, The Creator and his new album Flower Boy has been on repeat, so I’m not too worried about him not being in the Top 50. Moving up the list a bit is Halsey’s “Now Or Never” at 40. I have heard a lot of people talking about Halsey’s new album, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet, so maybe I’ll check it out sometime in the future. At 37 and 35 respectively is Shawn Mendes’ “There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back” and Ed Sheeran’s “Shape Of You”. I included these together because in my eyes they’re pretty much the same thing, not to say that they’re terrible, but they’re not exactly my cup of tea. I don’t really want to review every single song, so I’ll skip to the ones that I have something to say about. At 33, is Imagine Dragons’ “Thunder”. I have given a couple of songs on their new album a listen, and I think it’s a good progression towards a permanent place in the rock world, similar to Muse’s place in the rock world. David Guetta’s single with Justin Bieber called “2U”,  at number 30 on the list, is exactly what I would expect from David Guetta and Justin Bieber: a club style hit with catchy hooks, what else do I have to say. Bruno Mars’ song “That’s What I Like” is at 28, which is pretty good considering it came out in late 2016. “goosebumps” from Travis Scott is at 26, but his current hit at number 9 on the list is his new single “Butterfly Effect”. Other than Kendrick Lamar, I think Travis Scott is the only one with two songs on the list, which is funny because Kendrick Lamar is also featured on “goosebumps”. Future’s hit “Mask Off” is unfortunately still on the list at 24. This song was the biggest and best thing when it first came out, but at this point people are just showing that they don’t really care about Future’s music, just this song. I’m not his biggest fan, so this could be a good or bad thing depending if you’re a fan or not. Logic’s song “1-800-273-8255” is, in my opinion, the most socially conscious and worthy song to be on this list. I am a big fan of songs with meaning, which is pretty much what music should be about, so as the English would say, “Good on ya, mate”. Kendrick Lamar takes the cake for most songs on the list, with hits at 38 (“LOVE.”), 22 (“DNA.”), and 6 (“HUMBLE.”). To me, this shows that Kendrick Lamar is able to stay consistent even while experimenting with different concepts and sounds. I haven’t listened to any other songs from Post Malone other than “Congratulations”, which is at number 8, and “White Iverson”, so I can’t say that I have an opinion on his music other than that, but based on his listens on Spotify for the rest of his album, there is obviously something there, so I’ll check his music out in the near future. The top five on the list includes “I’m The One” by DJ Khaled, Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance, The Rapper, and Lil Wayne, “Unforgettable” by French Montana and Swae Lee, “Wild Thoughts” by DJ Khaled, Rihanna, and Bryson Tiller, “XO TOUR Llife3” by Lil Uzi Vert, and “Despacito – Remix” by Luis Fonsi, Daddy Yankee, and Justin Bieber. DJ Khaled’s music is another one on top of another one in recent times, which is awesome, especially because they don’t want to see him have another anthem. French Montana just put out his album, so I’m curious to see how his album rolls out over time. Lil Uzi Vert is still this high on the list, so there’s that. Coming in at number 1 is the possible song of the year, “Despacito – Remix” with Justin Bieber. I can’t explain it but this song is hard not to like. It’s just one of those songs that is just good whether or not you know or like the artists that made it.

Well, that’s it. My opinion on today’s (July 25, 2017) top 50 in America. I’ll try to keep doing things that are different so that it’s fun for me to write and interesting to read. Thanks for reading, and as always, God Bless America.

Leave a Reply

