Vampire Weekend – Vampire Weekend

Of all the indie pop albums to come out in the 2000’s, there is not one I like more than Vampire Weekend’s debut album, Vampire Weekend. The songs on this album are just good. There isn’t one that I don’t like. I also don’t know one person that knows of Vampire Weekend and does not like this album. They are the epitome of a modern day classic. I’m trying to think of a way to extend this into a full post because I have kind of said everything I wanted to say. Ok, I got it, here I go:

Vampire Weekend is a rock band from New York City formed in 2006 (thanks Wikipedia). They are a band that has been in my life for at least 6 years. Shortly after I discovered them, I accepted Vampire Weekend into my life. Their infectious worldy pop, reminiscent of Paul Simon’s Graceland, is so different, interesting and engaging (notice the lack of the “Oxford Comma”) that it stood out immediately from the other albums that were coming out at the time. The influence of Paul Simon and Peter Gabriel, referenced in the song “Cape Code Kwassa Kwassa”, shows the ability to take an old style of music and make it completely new again (side note: other bands that have done this is The Struts or Steel Panther with hair metal). Songs like “Oxford Comma”, “A-Punk”, “Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa”, “M79”, “Campus”, “Mansard Roof”, “Bryn”, “One (Blake’s Got A New Face”), “I Stand Corrected”, “The Kids Don’t Stand A Chance” and “Walcott” show their ability to create Beatles-esque baroque pop that is consistent from one song to the next (in case you didn’t catch it, I listed all of the songs on the album). My favorites on the album include “Oxford Comma”, “A-Punk”, “Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa” and “M79”. Hozier comes to mind when listening to his debut album, Hozier, as well as Arcade Fire’s The Suburbs, mainly because of the atmosphere they create, as well as the consistency of the music from one song to the next. Vampire Weekend is just one of those bands that has well-crafted songs that stand the test of time. The first song I learned to play from this album on guitar was “A-Punk”, because of its simplicity and catchiness, as well as it being their biggest song to date. After going back to this album after a while not listening to the while thing, I really appreciated a lot more, and it really showed that the music stands the test of time. The album will go down as being as classic as Paul Simon’s Graceland, not only because it sounds like it, but also because it truly deserves that level of reverence. Thanks for reading, and as always, God Bless America.

giphy

 

One thought on “Vampire Weekend – Vampire Weekend”

Leave a Reply

